The DC Jazz Collective is a group of musicians hailing from the Washington, DC area, joining together to serve as ambassadors of DC’s jazz community.  The Collective was originally formed in 2018 to bring DC jazz to Bangkok, Thailand as part of the DC government’s “Sister Cities” program, through a grant funded by the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities.

The Collective includes some of the busiest performers and composers on the thriving DC jazz scene, including Herb Scott (sax), Lionel Lyles (sax), Amy Bormet (keys), Oren Levine (keys), Evan Samuels (guitar), Ethan Foote (bass), Percy White (bass), and Will Stephens (drums).  The DC Jazz Collective players include the founders of the Washington Women in Jazz Festival, the Capitol Hill Jazz Foundation, and the DC Jazz Jam, which celebrated its 10th anniversary in 2019 and is perennially named as the best jazz jam session in DC.  They have played at internationally-renowned venues such as the Kennedy Center, the Library of Congress, and Blues Alley.  They have been featured on National Public Radio and Voice of America, and they have performed with international artists such as Ramsey Lewis, Herbie Hancock, and Dave Brubeck.